The Amazing Adventures of 4¢ Ned (Coinworld Series)

* Just released!*

Coinworld: Books 8 & 9

The exciting, fun-packed conclusion to the Coinworld series.


Don’t meddle with the metal.

The world has a new hero, but he’s short a penny.

Stamped with a one-cent handicap, laughed at inside every purse or pocket he dropped into, Ned Nickel never believed he’d amount to much, not even a cheap cigar. But when fate places Ned rim to rim with a sagacious Indian nickel, the four-center learns that he has a most surprising destiny.

Chief Iron Tail instructs him how to tap into his “inner wampum,” and soon Ned discovers that his puny diameter contains a million bucks of fantastic. Teaming up with a luckless Lincoln wheat penny, the three coins sally forth to save Coinworld from a worthless future and become the champions of small change everywhere.

A bigger story never came in a smaller package. 4¢ Ned is e pluribus awesome!

The Amazing Adventures of 4¢ Ned is Book One in the Coinworld Series.

Available now at Amazon in both Kindle Ebook and paperback.

(click below to view on Amazon)

Coinworld: Book One

Coinworld: Book Two

Coinworld: Book Three

Coinworld: Book Four

Coinworld: Book Five

Coinworld: Book Six

Coinworld: Book Seven

Coinworld: Book Eight

Coinworld: Book Nine – Final Strike


The Amazing Adventures of 4¢ Ned is a stunning opening in the Coinworld series, a hilarious tale of 4¢ Ned and his wonderful, breathtaking adventures. … A work of genius, a humorous and delightful read that has great originality. … This is the kind of story that will amuse both young and adult reader…You won’t be able to put this one down; you’ll get sucked into the humorous whirlwind once you start reading.”

The San Francisco Book Review

“An amusing and highly imaginative novel. The premise of the book is just crazy enough to work. Far from devolving into silliness, it’s actually a fairly ingenious point of view for a novel. What makes this book so fun is Laskin has covered every possible facet of what it’s like to be a coin – you’ll never look at change the same way again. It really is a fun read in which you’ll get easily lost in Laskin’s fantastical universe.”

Self-Publishing Review (SPR)

“The Amazing Adventures of 4¢ Ned (Coinworld: Book One) by Benjamin Laskin is a humorous tale, something quite unique and extraordinary. I can honestly say that I have never in my long reading life come across another book quite like it. Mr. Laskin has the knack of bringing inanimate objects to life, of giving them their own personalities and making you believe that, yes, coins do have a life of their own! This is one of those stories that you just can’t help but be drawn into; it’s fun, it’s an escape from reality and it’s a tale of self-fulfillment of finding out what your true purpose in life is. Trust me when I say that you will look at the coins in your pocket in a completely different light after reading this!”

Readers’ Favorite, Anne-Marie Reynolds – 5 stars

5.0 out of 5 starsCould be the next Disney Pixar movie
on June 16, 2017
Format: Paperback

Coinworld Book 1 is a story of humility, courage, and adventure. It has training scenes, and has a love story, and includes a variety of historical nuggets about U.S. coins. This book could easily be adapted as a Disney Pixar movie, like Cars and Planes. The essence of the characters remind very much of the movie Planes, which is really done well. The end of the book sets the stage for a looming battle, which is to be resolved in the sequel books. I read the paperback version of the book, and the size of the book and the font size of the print are easy to read.

5.0 out of 5 starsSome of the most imaginative and fun reading I’ve ever done

on May 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Never heard of Laskin before. He’s a trip. Some of the most imaginative and fun reading I’ve ever done. Who knew, from a fistful of coins, could emerge such an exciting adventure? Many characters are coins but are as human and real as any character I’ve encountered elsewhere. Funny and engaging, this book moves fast, but without sacrificing depth. I eagerly look forward to reading the rest of the series and other works by this excellent storyteller. Highly recommended to all, from someone who never reviews books.

5.0 out of 5 starsNickel for your thought.

on May 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Didn’t think I’d enjoy it(4c Ned), but I did. I always took coins for granted! Now…now the life they live is adventurous, like you wouldn’t believe. Good storytelling. Can’t wait to see where Ned, Pete and Chief go on their journey. Will they find Franny?

5.0 out of 5 stars4 Cent Ned – Quite a guy!

on February 4, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Benjamin Laskin is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors and I was looking forward to reading the first of the Coinworld series. I was not disappointed. Mr. Laskin brings the coins to life in such a charming and realistic way that I never doubted their existence or the stories they told. 4 Cent Ned, aptly named because of incorrect minting, knows he is quite valuable and needs to be on the move to avoid collectors who might tuck him away where he can never meet up and socialize with other coins, and pursue his love interest, Franny, a Peace Dollar. I couldn’t help but picture this story as a movie for all audiences. It’s witty and clever; I’m sure Book #2 will be just as entertaining. Highly recommended.


5.0 out of 5 starsEngaging and original
on January 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Like other Benjamin Laskin’s books, it is a story of self-improvement and finding one’s purpose in life. It is superbly written, engaging, and original – very different from any other book I have ever read. Once you enter Coinworld, coins will never look the same!

5.0 out of 5 starsCreativity at its best!
on February 18, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book but soon found myself reeled in. It was so intriguing to see how Laskin wove together so much trivia about money and history into a tale of adventure, love, and a look into the future. I’m ready to begin Book 2!